View Map of Central Balkans | CIA Map | Map of Former Yugoslavia
  • Balkan Profile: Albania
  • Balkan Profile: Bosnia
  • Balkan Profile: Macedonia
  • Balkan Profile: Montenegro
  • Balkan Profile: Serbia
  • Balkan Profile: Yugoslavia
  • How to Help Balkan Refugees



  Political Structure
Official Names Republic of Albanka
Legal System A new constitution was adopted by referendum on November 22 1998 and came into effect on November 28. It replaced the interim constitution which had been in place following the abandonment of the Marxist-inspired constitution in April 1991.
National Legislature Unicameral People's Assembly of 155 members; 115 directly elected and 40 elected by proportional representation. According to the new constitution, the members will be reduced to 140: 100 elected directly and 40 by proportional representation from party lists.
National Elections June-July 1997 (parliamentary), July 1997 (presidential); next election due in June 2001 (parliamentary)
Head of State President (at the time of this writing) Rexhep Mejdani, elected by People's Assembly, July 1997
National Government Coalition led by the Socialist Party of Albania, elected in June-July 1997; reshuffle, October 1998
Main Political Parties


  • Agrarian Party (AP),
  • Democratic Alliance (DA),
  • Social Democratic Party (SDP),
  • Socialist Party of Albania (SPA),
  • Union for Human Rights (UHR);


  • Christian Democratic Party (CDP),
  • Communist Party of Albania (CPA),
  • Democratic Party (DP),
  • Democratic Party of the Right (DPR),
  • Legality Movement (LM),
  • Movement for Democracy (MD),
  • National Front Party (NPP),
  • New Socialist Party (NSP),
  • Social Democratic Union (SDU),
  • Republican Party (RP)
Prime Minister Pandell Majko (SPA)
Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of State for Government Co-ordination Ilir Meta (SPA)
Minister of State for Legislative Reform and Relations with the Assembly Arben Imami (DA)
Key Ministers Agriculture and food -- Lufter Xhuveli (AP)
Culture, youth and sport -- Edi Rama (independent)
Defence -- Luan Hajdaraga (SPA)
Economic co-operation and trade -- Ermelinda Meksi (SPA)
Education and science -- Ethem Ruka (SPA)
Finance -- Anastas Angjell (SPA)
Foreign affairs -- Paskal Milo (SDP)
Health -- Leonard Solis (UHR)
Information -- Musa Ulqini (SPA)
Justice -- Thimjo Kondi (independent)
Labour and social affairs -- Kadri Rrapi (SPA)
Local government -- Arben Demeti (DA)
Public economy and privatisation -- Ylli Bufi (SPA)
Public order -- Petro Koci (SPA)
Public works and transport -- Ingrid Shuli (SDP)
Secretary of State European integration -- Maqo Lakrori (SPA)
Central Bank Governor Shkelqim Cani (SPA)


Source: The Economist Intelligence Unit Limited 1999